Love and Gender Confusion

I know that right away people will label me a bigot.

I’m okay with that. I’m coming from a place of love and dignity. Real love and real dignity.

I’m just going to come out and say it:

I don’t know that providing gender reassignment surgery for people is good. In fact I think it’s incredibly harmful.

I say this because the operation is horrifying. It can’t be right and good to use part of your stomach or intestines to make a vagina. It can be right to alter the clitoris through the use of testosterone and carve your own skin up in order to make a penis.  It sounds like mutilation.

And after the operation, there’s still the need for hormones to maintain the transformation. Changing, or mutilating the genitals does not make you a man or woman. You need the hormones.

This got me thinking.

If someone has to take more estrogen to “feel” like a woman or testosterone to “feel” like a man, why not just give them the hormone that corresponds with their body?

Surely taking a pill is more loving than surgery. If someone can feel better about themselves without having their body cut, that has to be the best option.

This all points to a larger issue. You can see it in the amount of post-op suicides and regrets.

If you feel like you’re stuck in the body of the opposite gender, you’re mentally ill. This isn’t a moral judgment. I don’t think people with anorexia are evil. I want to help them. I don’t help them by paying for their liposuction. We have to deal with reality. We shouldn’t buy into their disease and discomfort. It’s not loving, it’s lazy.

Same with parents who let their kids decide one day that they’re a boy or a girl. Given the choice, most kids would decide they were a dinosaur. A parent who lets their kid decide their gender is neglecting the development of their kid. They’re abdicating their parental responsibility.

Now I know there’s money to be made in the surgery, that it’s posh to see gender as something we made up and it reinforces the idea that nothing is right or wrong or correct or incorrect in this world.I know that’s so important for progressives.

This idea isn’t true, of course. There is reality and it doesn’t care about you. I remember meeting a devout Catholic woman and the topic of homosexuality came up. She said one of the most terrifying things I’ve ever heard:

“God forgives. Nature doesn’t.”

There are consequences to every action. Including gender reassignment surgery. That consequence is often suicide, or soul crushing regret.

I don’t want people experiencing that. It’s time we take an honest look at people who feel they are trapped in the wrong body and do something that actually helps them, regardless of the politics surrounding the issue.

I’m willing to be completely wrong on this. I just don’t want them to suffer because we as a society were lazy and pretended it was loving to buy into a mental illness. Lives are at stake. We need to show real love.

Leave a Reply

